ComJour333 Story 3: Video/Audio Package

Script:

FAFSA Logo*
Narrator: “The Free Application for Federal Student Aid ( or FAFSA) is a form that can be prepared annually by current and prospective college students in the United States to determine their eligibility for student financial aid.

*FAFSA Form*
Narrator: “The age to officially declare independent status on a FAFSA form is 24 years old. The age restriction can be an issue for students under 24 who are already financially independent because the burdens of financial aid are instead put on their parents. This can be a problem for low-income families or parents who are separated.”

*Narration over Tracy Roberts footage*
Narrator: “Even as an older student at 26, Tracy Roberts thinks the age of independency on the form should be lowered because she feels that the government should not get to determine an individual’s status without looking even further into their background.”

Tracy Roberts: “I’m old enough where I can’t be on my parents’ insurance anymore so I have to purchase the student insurance which is a lot of money each semester. Also I live in an on-campus apartment so I have to go out and buy food on my own. It does save some money in the long run but it’s a little more inconvenient at times because you have to run to the store.”

Narrator: “Twenty-year old Nick Kruiswyk thinks students in college should be able to be considered independent no matter the age, as long as they have the means to do so.”

Nick Kruiswyk: “If you’re willing to go away to school, away from your parents at college, you’re basically wanting to claim yourself as an independent, wanting to be on your own. I think they should lower [the FAFSA age restriction] for when you go into college.”

Narrator: “19 year old Sarah Rae does not think the age to be considered independent for financial aid needs to be lowered because she is already worried about her future.”

Sarah Rae: “I mean, it makes me scared because I’m not going to have that high-paying of a job so it will take me a while to pay it off but the other money also goes to people less fortunate than me.”

*Money On Table Clip*
Narrator: “Despite two very different situations regarding FAFSA, Roberts and Kruiswyk also expressed concern regarding their finances and abilities to pay off student loans.”

Roberts: “I make a lot less money than my parents so instead of a ton of loans and maybe no grants at all, I get almost about half grants and work study for my financial aid instead of all loans.”

Kruiswyk: “Its in the back of my mind because I know I don’t need to worry about it yet but is the ever-growing thing of when I’m done with school I’ll have to start paying off loans and just how I’m going to go about doing that once I’m done with college.”

*Murrow Building Clip*
Narrator: “I’m Zack Menchel for Reporting Across Platforms News.”

Sources (In order of appearance):

Tracy Roberts
WSU Student
Email: t.rob.wsu@gmail.com

Nick Kruiswyk
WSU Student
Phone: (509) 435-2230

Sarah Rae
WSU Student
Email: sarah.rae@email.wsu.edu

B-Roll Footage:

Leave a Reply

